SMA's 15th Annual Conference, scheduled this year for November 1-3, 2017, includes three days of jam-packed hours of education, networking, and celebration of sport marketing research. Though the SMA conference always strives to deliver timely and relevant knowledge to sport marketing academics and practitioners, this year's SMA conference—in Boston, MA, a hub for sport business—serves as a catalyst for SMA to offer the most valuable and exciting content in a decade of conference history.


Tuesday, OCTOBER 31, 2017

4:00pm to 6:00pm – Open Conference Registration (5th Floor)

Wednesday, NOVEMBER 1, 2017

8:00am to 6:00pm – Open Conference Registration (5th Floor)

9:00am to 11:00am – SMA Executive Board Meeting (5th Floor)

1:00pm to 1:45pm – SMA Annual Conference Opening Session*

*featuring Buffy Filippell of TeamWork Online and SMA President Joris Drayer

2:00pm to 5:30pm – Oral Sessions 

5:30pm to 6:00pm – Doctoral Students Mentoring Session

5:45pm - Case Study Bowl Submission Due

6:00pm to 8:00pm – TeamWork Online Opening Night Reception*

*sponsored by TeamWork Online

Thursday, NOVEMBER 2, 2017

7:30am – Sport Marketing Quarterly (SMQ) Board Meeting (5th Floor)

8:00am to 5:00pm – Open Conference Registration (5th Floor)

8:00am to 8:50am – Pedagogy and Pastries

8:20am to 8:50am – Data Drives the Future: What's New in Sports Analytics (Library Room)

*special presentation by Sports Market Analytics

9:00am to 11:55am – Oral Sessions

9:00am to 11:30pm – The Aspire Group Case Study Bowl* 

*sponsored by The Aspire Group

12:00pm to 1:15pm – SMA Presidents Luncheon* 

*featuring Ted Dalton, Senior VP Partnerships and Business Development, Boston Celtics *moderated by Dan Migala, Chief Innovation Officer, PCG SportsDesk

1:30pm to 3:00pm – RAP Sessions (Research and Practitioner Panel Discussions)

1:30-2:00pm - Creative Partnerships: Opportunities, Activation and Measurement
Alicia Jessop (Moderator), Sport Marketing Faculty, Pepperdine University
John Clark, 
Senior VP of Sales, Fenway Sports Management
Windy Dees, 
Sport Marketing Faculty, University of Miami
Dan Migala, 
Chief Innovation Officer, PCG SportsDesk
Mike Mulhall, 
VP Business Development, Greater Cleveland Sports Commission

2:05-2:35pm - Talkin’ about Data, Analytics, BI, CRM, Strategy…This Stuff is Cool!
Bill Nielsen (Moderator), VP of Partner Solutions, PCG SportsDesk
Rebecca Achen, Sport Management Faculty, Illinois State University
Matt Bailey, Internet Marketing Speaker/Consultant/Author,
Karlis Kezbers, Director of Business Intelligence, Oklahoma City Thunder
Russell Scibetti, President, KORE Planning & Insights

2:50-3:25pm - Social Media in a Crowded Market Place: Practices, Payoffs and Pitfalls
Brandon Brown (Moderator), Sport Management Faculty, New York University
Marc Davis, Digital Media Manager, Boston Athletic Association/Boston Marathon
Kelsey Doherty, Digital Media Manager, Boston Red Sox
Andrea Geurin, Sport Management Faculty, New York University
Kassie Epstein, Social Media Manager and Event Coordinator, Gillette Stadium

3:25-3:45pm - Featured Interview with Larry Martin from Gametime App
Joris Drayer (Moderator), Sport Marketing Faculty/SMA President, Temple University
Larry Martin (Featured Interviewee), Senior VP Business Development, Gametime

3:50-4:20pm - Ticket Sales: What Does It Take to Succeed?
Chad McEvoy (Moderator), Sport Management Faculty, Northern Illinois University
David Halberstam, Principal, Halby Group
Stephanie Jacobson, Manager, MLS National Sales Center
Jillian Paine, Director of Inside Sales, Boston Celtics
Nels Popp, Sport Management Faculty, University of North Carolina

4:30pm – Buses Depart for Off-Site Reception at Fenway Park

5:00 to 7:00pm – SMA Reception at Fenway Park

Friday, NOVEMBER 3, 2017

8:00am to 12:00pm – Open Conference Registration (5th Floor)

8:00am to 8:50am – Posters and Pastries

9:00am to 11:00am – Oral Sessions

9:00am to 11:00am – The Aspire Group Case Study Bowl Finals* 

*sponsored by The Aspire Group

11:00am to 12:00pm – College Sports Symposium

One Hundred Years of Rebranding Big-Time College Sport: Enough is Enough...Call for Adoption of a Non-NCAA College Sport Paradigm
Mark Nagel (Moderator), Sport Management Faculty, University of South Carolina
Amy Huchthausen, Commisioner, America East Conference
Ed O’Hara, President and Chief Creative Officer, SME
Richard Southall, Sport Management Faculty, University of South Carolina
Vaughn Williams, Senior Associate Athletics Director of Administration, Boston College

11:00am to 12:00pm – MLS National Sales Center Ignite Presentations

Should We Have a 'Women in Sport Class'?" Insights on Infusing Diversity into Every Course We Teach
Andrea Geurin, New York University

Parking: The Fan Experience
Christopher Lee, Arizona State

Using Design Thinking in the Classroom 
Melissa Davies, University of the Pacific

#MillennialTalk: Communicating Tradition to Non-Traditionalists
Kelly Evans, University of South Carolina

Remember What? A Call for More Attention on the Role of Memories of Sporting Events
Mark Slavich, Grand View University

The Invisible Sports Market
Nancy Lough, University of Las Vegas, Nevada

What’s the Big Deal about Big Data? Sport Management Research, Practice, and Education
Bradley Baker, Temple University

Humor in the Peer Review Process
Brendan Dwyer, Virginia Commonwealth University

12:00pm to 2:00pm – SMA Awards Luncheon* 

*featuring the Veeck Address by Amy Latimer, President, TD Garden & Delaware North’s United Kingdom Operations
*presentation of the SMA Research Grant Award
*presentation of the SMA Best Professional and Student Paper Winners

*presentation of the SMA Research Fellow
*presentation of the MLS National Sales Center Ignite Presentation Winner
*presentation of the William A. Sutton Award to Dr. Steve McKelvey, sponsored by MLS National Sales Center
*presentation of the David K. Stotlar Award to Dr. Nancy Lough, sponsored by the University of Northern Colorado
*presentation of the Bernie S. Mullin Award to The Aspire Group

*presentation of The Aspire Group Case Study Bowl Winner

2:00pm to 2:15pm – SMA Closing Session